Chicago's Headmistress
Loretta Giacoletto
[EPUB] ã Chicago's Headmistress | by ð Loretta Giacoletto
Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AMBy Loretta Giacoletto

Step back in time to Prohibition and prostitution during the Roaring Twenties Follow Giulietta Bracca s notorious rise to wealth and power, from street urchin in 1905 Genoa, Italy, to the headmistress of Night School, Chicago s most popular and innovative men s club in the 1920s Along the way Giulietta plays a deadly game of one upmanship with men who use her, abuse her,Step back in time to Prohibition and prostitution during the Roaring Twenties Follow Giulietta Bracca s notorious rise to wealth and power, from street urchin in 1905 Genoa, Italy, to the headmistress of Night School, Chicago s most popular and innovative men s club in the 1920s Along the way Giulietta plays a deadly game of one upmanship with men who use her, abuse her, and fall head over heels in love with her This quick study seductress soon learns to give as good as she gets, and with few regrets those so devastating they will haunt her into eternity But there is one man Giulietta will never forget the immigrant bootlegger she gave up too soon and will stop at nothing to lure him back, even if it means jeopardizing all she holds dear A prequel and partial parallel to Giacoletto s Italian American saga The Family Angel, Chicago s Headmistress can also stand alone Every story has than one side and within a generational saga many stories link and overlap And as in real life, their endings rarely dissolve into happily ever after A must read for fans of The Family Angel, Family Deceptions, The Godfather, and HBO s Boardwalk Empire.
  • Title: Chicago's Headmistress
  • Author: Loretta Giacoletto
  • ISBN: -
  • Page: 122
  • Format: Kindle Edition

Comments

Bonnie Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
How wonderful it was to get back into Ms Giacoletto s voice in her recent historical novel, Chicago s Headmistress Having read all of this author s books, I ve found each new story better than the last Ms Giacoletto has a unique command of both the English and the Italian languages, adding many fine details to bring her characters and settings to life.While following the main character, Giulietta Bracca, from her tragic beginning as the daughter of a prostitute in Italy, through her trials and t [...]
Click to Replay
Ilene Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
I ve had this book for 2 years and decided to finally read it I really enjoyed it until the end It just ends with so many questions unanswered There is another book but it is parallel to this one, not a conclusion Seeing as it was written several years ago, my guess is that it will forever remain incomplete.Delilah eventually Juiletta is a young girl living in Italy in 1905 Her mother is a whore hey that s what they were called this book stayed true to the times and was so un PC Her mother is ou [...]
Click to Replay
Valerie Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
This book was very good I read it all in one day because I have a job that allows me to read and I will be downloading the Angel s book to finish out the story Loved it.
Click to Replay
Thom Swennes Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
Nothing should stay the same forever Ellis Island and the New York harbor has seen the arrival of millions of immigrants predominantly from Europe looking for a new life in the land of opportunity, the United States of America Each and every person has a story and the majority of them are filled with hardships and depravities These degradations were born without rancor as returning to the old country was no longer an option Slowly circumstances improved and eventually adding meat to the American [...]
Click to Replay
Paul Burnette Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
Up from nothing, Delila at age thirteen is raped by a would be client of her harlot mother in Genoa, escapes with her consumptive mother and mother s lover Maurizio, buries her mother at sea, travels to New York and then Chicago At fourteen she has Maurizio s baby, suffers her baby s disappearance, leaves Maurizio to take up work cleaning up at a beauty parlor, then agrees to work at a high class brothel in an agreement with the madam that she will take over and manage the business after a year [...]
Click to Replay
Jodie Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
Giulietta Bracca spends her first 13 years with her mama, the prostitute, in Italy At 13 she is already a force to be reckoned with She is already tough and as she gets older, becomes a shrewd business woman The author has a way of sucking you in and not letting go I didn t want to stop listening to this book Every moment left me wanting I am definitely going to read of Loretta Giacoletto s other novels.Thomas Fawley narrates this book flawlessly I normally don t care for male narrators readin [...]
Click to Replay
Dee-Ann Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
Waivering between 3 and 4 stars I dont really like this era, it just feels so dirty, smelly, uncaring and corrupt The story kept me interested however, but some of the jumps were a bit large and I was hanging out for a good news section The end caught me by surprise I didn t expect it to end when it did as the Kindle said that I had only read 90% of the book, but the remaining 10% was chapters for another book silly me I suppose the ending was justified but I did not like it.However, I think tha [...]
Click to Replay
Ali Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
Prosecution Found a few grammar issues and would have loved to have a little of a back story on the mother Defense Gritty, emotional, and sexually charged, this historical novel set in the early 1900s will rock your socks off Guilietta is tough and such a great character Watch her grow from an orphan to a hard shelled woman and all of the in betweens Absolutely loved the setting and can t wait to read the other books in this phenomenal series To read my verdict please go to From Bows to Books
Click to Replay
Daniel Smith Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
Ms Giacoletto with an economy of words and highly visual imagery, drives a fast pace literary look into the life of a young Italian girl, daughter of a prostitute, running from a murder The story follows a frightened US immigrant s evolution from a crafty lady of the night to the headmaster of her own brothel The story of Chicago s seedy underside in the 1920s has been told many times All of which come from the perspective of the male dominated mob world This novel gives the reader a new and dif [...]
Click to Replay
Catherine Lea Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
I picked this book up looking for something a little different, and after reading the first few pages, I had to check that it was indeed fiction Giacoletto writes with such authority that as you follow the characters from the sordid and filthy streets of Genoa, Italy, then on to New York and finally to Chicago, you d swear this is heavily researched non fiction or that the author was there A marvellous read, I thoroughly recommend it.
Click to Replay
Melissa Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
I don t what gave me the idea that this was a historical novel of the 1920s is Chicago But I could not have been further from the truth More like a trash novel, there is nothing remotely edifying in this read The story is sensationalist and the characters do not stay consistent within their supposed personality traits.
Click to Replay
Kathy Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
This was a good book I had read The Family Angel first and some of story of that book was in this one but all in all I enjoyed the book Like that era and the stories of the immigrants coming to America Good read Like this writers wring style.
Click to Replay
Patsy Bishop Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
Good book a little off the beaten path.
Click to Replay
Ananda Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
It would have gotten 4 stars but the ending stinks.
Click to Replay
Paula Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
Easy read, interesting characters.
Click to Replay
Willee Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
Love these period pieces Good Book.
Click to Replay
Willi Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
I believed this to be a historical memoir written by a biographer It was very well written I enjoyed it tremendously
Click to Replay
Marge Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
This book is a little too rough for me I m not sure I will finish it as other reviewers say the ending is disappointing.
Click to Replay
Alasdair Craig Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
A short, simple and easy read.
Click to Replay
Maria Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
I love historical fiction but this book seemed so shallow to me because the characters did not seem to have a lot of depth.
Click to Replay
John Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
I would like to have rated this at 3.5 stars Good reading and it kept me interested.
Click to Replay
Betsy Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
Grammar and anachronistic language errors detract from an interesting story Disappointing ending.
Click to Replay
Janet Miller Aug 04, 2020 - 11:46 AM
Very intriguing story of the roaring twenties, the mafia and the life of a very successful prostitute.
Click to Replay

Leave a Comment

Name
Email
Your Comment
Chicago's Headmistress By Loretta Giacoletto Step back in time to Prohibition and prostitution during the Roaring Twenties Follow Giulietta Bracca s notorious rise to wealth and power, from street urchin in 1905 Genoa, Italy, to the headmistress of Night School, Chicago s most popular and innovative men s club in the 1920s Along the way Giulietta plays a deadly game of one upmanship with men who use her, abuse her,Step back in time to Prohibition and prostitution during the Roaring Twenties Follow Giulietta Bracca s notorious rise to wealth and power, from street urchin in 1905 Genoa, Italy, to the headmistress of Night School, Chicago s most popular and innovative men s club in the 1920s Along the way Giulietta plays a deadly game of one upmanship with men who use her, abuse her, and fall head over heels in love with her This quick study seductress soon learns to give as good as she gets, and with few regrets those so devastating they will haunt her into eternity But there is one man Giulietta will never forget the immigrant bootlegger she gave up too soon and will stop at nothing to lure him back, even if it means jeopardizing all she holds dear A prequel and partial parallel to Giacoletto s Italian American saga The Family Angel, Chicago s Headmistress can also stand alone Every story has than one side and within a generational saga many stories link and overlap And as in real life, their endings rarely dissolve into happily ever after A must read for fans of The Family Angel, Family Deceptions, The Godfather, and HBO s Boardwalk Empire.

Share this article...
  • [EPUB] ã Chicago's Headmistress | by ð Loretta Giacoletto
    122 Loretta Giacoletto
  • thumbnail Title: [EPUB] ã Chicago's Headmistress | by ð Loretta Giacoletto
    Posted by:Loretta Giacoletto
    Published :2019-04-27T12:17:26+00:00